New York Fashion Week Highlights

New York Fashion week came to a wrap yesterday after 8 intense days filled with fashion shows, parties, after parties and special events. I made it back to San Francisco exhausted after too many days of sleep deprivation and the sheer over stimulation of the brain from seeing beautiful fabrics, colors, patterns and of course beautiful people.

I have to say that once you see 3 fashion shows you get really spoiled and all the shows after are not as exciting as they should be. This was my first NY Fashion week as a guest and comparing it to London Fashion Week a few months back I felt that the buzz, glitz and glamor was missing somehow. Not what one would expect from the most coveted Fashion Week of the Year. I also found the street style and the guests at London fashion week to be far more stylish and daring than those that were present for NY Fashion week. But that’s just my opinion.

My hustler skills came in handy when it came into getting into any show we wanted. Most of the time I was able to get front row seating and took descent pictures. Starting with this post there will be a series of posts including favorite looks, celebrity spotting and backstage all access.

Before I share my favorite looks from NY Fashion Week, here are some of the trends I spotted. First, when it came to evening wear, there was an abundance of elegant sparkly sequin sprinkled throughout all collections so if you find sequin items on sale definitely purchase them. Especially gold, dark green and brown. Leather was also central to most of the collections as well as loose fitting outerwear. It seems that the loose fit trend will still continue through fall/winter. And finally, most of the collections were absolutely ready to wear. I could see myself wearing all the designs. There were not many haute couture pieces on the runway. But that is to be expected since the top fashion houses like Chanel, Dior, YSL etc do not exhibit at NY Fashion Week.

So without delay below are some of my favorite looks from the shows attended.

Reem Acra Fall 2012

Bibhu Mohapatra Fall 2012

Dennis Basso Fall 2012

Pamela Roland Fall 2012

Narciso Rodriguez Fall 2012

Narciso Rodriguez Fall 2012

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

