Emerging Talent

By Lona

While at fashion week, in between the catwalk shows, I had a chance to visit the exhibits that were set up at Somerset House, home of British Fashion Council and where most of the fashion shows were taking place.  At these exhibit, young designers that either were not ready or did not have the budget to show their collection on the runways, had a chance to obtain a booth and display their work to be seen and touched by hundred of professional buyers that came to LFW to purchase for their stores.  These exhibits help emerging designers develop relationships and build their profile and business.

One of my favorite designers was Sophie Hulme because I love her authentic simplicity yet unexpected twists she adds to her bags, belts and garments.  SOMA magazine describes it as “Utilitarian Chic”. Hulme herself said “I am always attracted by menswear—the utility and the toughness,”

I personally loved her bags and belts and wanted to purchase all of them. Luckily for the bank account the collection was purely for display.

Another fun and innovative designer that stood out from the crowd was CLEO B.   She was adorable.  CLEO was no more than 25, beautiful and super nice.  I loved the retro shoes that she had created in all the various jewel tones.

CLEO B

When it came to clothing and ready to wear collections I fell in love immediately with D.EFECT.  This designer from Latvia captured my attention because of the form fitting clean lines and high quality materials she used for her spring collection.  I tried to find some pictures of the latest collection but all I could get was the autumn 2011 collection which was not my favorite I have to say.

Below are some more interesting new designers:

Joanne StokerJoanne StokerJoanne StokerJoanne StokerJoanne StokerJoanne Stoker
George Angelopoulos
Kim Kwang
Kim Kwang

3 Comments

Filed under fashion, Fashion events, London Fashion Week

3 responses to “Emerging Talent

  1. Olivia

    Dear Lona, Here is my shopping list😉 Definitely need a bag from Sophie Hulme! Love her collection, reminds me of the minimalist touch and elegance of Celine. Perfect cuts, modern and class. Wonderful! As well, keep me one of Joanne Stoker pair of shoes: perfect for crazy parties in Shanghai or Saint Tropez or how to mix Art and Fashion! Last but not least, a Clutch bag from George Angelopoulos: greek designers always amaze me! Love the geometric forms of its bags and its futurism! Sounds like architecture…and so rock n roll too! Interesting to get to know new designers like them Thanks😉

  2. olivia

    Ahahah ur perfect😉

Leave a Reply

