A word on street style

By Maja

As a fashion designer I get my inspiration from many places.

I have done collections based on the lines of the Japanese art of paperfolding, origami, been inspired by the silhouettes of eagles in the sky and the architechture of one of the last century’s greatest architects, Le Corbusier.

Photo cred: http://www.joostlangeveldorigami.nl/

One of my main sources of inspiration for the collections I have done, however, continues to spring from the creativity of people and their own personal expressions of style. I can roam the Internet for hours looking for new blogs with pictures of street style from every counrty and whenever I travel people watching is one of my favorite pastimes. Equipped with my camera and my sketchbook I go through the creative process of continuously sketching, scribbling down ideas for patterns or fabrics and taking pictures of a certain mix of materials or an interesting detail in a shirt or a dress.

The beauty of street style lies in people’s relentless effort to both stand out as a memorable individual as well as pledge belonging to a certain group. We will style ourselves to look the best we can, but at the same time define ourselves as hipsters, professionals, nerds or whatever we choose to express that day. And even though the result of mixing what you find in H&M with your mom’s wardobe from the 80’ies doesn’t always give an aesthetically pleasing result, these fashion dares are what moves trends and shift industry focus around the world.

One of my favorite blogs for checking out cool street style is the Finnish site Hel Looks. I don’t know what they put in the water in Finland that makes the people there dare more and care less, but I do love their outgoing style, which seem in such contrast with the reputation of the Finnish being stoic and introvert.

Photo Cred: Hel Looks

Leave a comment

Filed under fashion, Street style

Leave a Reply

